HISTORY & MERCY ETHOS

History of St Joseph’s College, Mildura

In 1905, a small group of Sisters of Mercy left Wentworth and founded a convent in a weatherboard building on the corner of Pine Avenue and Tenth Street, Mildura.

The next year, the sisters began conducting classes in rooms attached to the convent, establishing an enduring tradition of Catholic education in Mildura. The Certificate of Registration of a School, dated 31 December 1906, indicated that sub-primary and primary classes were also conducted from the convent at the time. Boarding school facilities were provided on Olive Avenue in 1911, and a new school was erected on Walnut Avenue in 1914.

St Joseph’s College’s Enright Campus on Twelfth Street opened in 1929. Since then, the College has completed several major building projects and is now based across three Mildura campuses: Enright, Mercy, and VCAL.

Mercy Ethos

Catherine McAuley was an enlightened Christian ahead of her time. When she founded the Sisters of Mercy in 1831, the term ‘social justice’ was still an idea which would eventually emerge, fully formed, some ten years later.

Throughout her time in the Catholic Church, Sr McAuley worked to help those less fortunate in her part of Dublin to make their lives better through education. Initially visualising the Sisters of Mercy as a ‘a lay corps of Catholic social workers,’ Sr McAuley could never have imagined how far her vision would reach, nor how her beliefs and efforts would help shape Church doctrines and policies long after her death. 

At St Joseph’s College, we maintain Sr McAuley’s legacy by living our Core Values and making sure they lead us in all we do.

Some Journeys Continue

the history of st joseph’s college mildura

One hundred and ten years in the making

ENRIGHT CAMPUS

154 Twelfth Street
Mildura VIC 3500

MERCY CAMPUS

Cnr Riverside Ave
& Eleventh Street
Mildura VIC 3500

VCAL CAMPUS

8 - 10 Langtree
Parade
Mildura VIC 3500

Acknowledgement of Country

© St Joseph's College 2022